Otsego's Board of Education as of January 2017


Left to right: Vice President, Scot Reitenour, Trustee, Bryon Campbell, Trustee, Jerry Robinson, Secretary Lisa Imus, Trustee, Stephen Podewell, President Wendy Stafford, Treasurer Jay Petty.

  • Board of Education Vacancy

    Otsego Public Schools will have a vacancy on its Board of Education effective July 1, 2017. Any interested individual applying for the vacancy should submit a letter of interest and resume to the Office of the Superintendent, 400 Sherwood Street, Otsego, MI 49078, or e-mail to lcurrie@otsegops.org.

    - June 5 2017 at noon. Deadline to apply.
    - June 26, 2017 beginning at 7:30 p.m.  Interviews will be held during the Board of Education meeting.


    ·      Resident of Otsego Public School district
    ·      Candidate cannot be employed by Otsego Public Schools

    Please see full vacancy listing for more details

VISION: Expect Excellence

MISSION STATEMENT: Otsego Public Schools is a student-centered learning community that continually creates an environment for everyone to learn.


  • Student Achievement & Instruction: Utilize data to tailor instruction and maximize student achievement.
  • Culture & Climate: Continue to build an organizational culture of respect and caring for all members of the community.
  • Resource Management: Ensure the effective use of district resources and facilities to enhance both the learning community and the greater local community.


  • Education and learning are the responsibility of the entire community.
  • All students can learn.
  • Education depends upon communication and collaboration among the school, student, family and the community.
  • Schools must provide a safe, respectful and caring learning environment.
  • Learning improves when educators use data and research-based practices to guide instructions.
  • Education cultivates interests that promote life-long learning.

The members of the Board of Education for Otsego Public Schools all stand behind and work toward fulfilling the district's mission statement: The Otsego Public Schools will provide a challenging academic experience in a safe environment; develop individual talents, promote unity among a diverse student population and create partnerships within the community.

The Board of Education keeps your children in mind as it makes the tough decisions regarding funding, staff, curriculum and outside activities. Despite the many challenges that schools face today, the Otsego Public Schools Board of Education keeps the furthering education of our students in mind and focuses on the foundation students are receiving to seek opportunities after they graduate. The BOE strives to provide the newest technology, the best teachers and unique offerings to keep kids interested in learning and help them become successful, productive citizens.


On May 14, 2012, the Board of Education adopted a resolution to change the length of Board members' terms to six years due to the State mandated change of school elections to November of the even-year election cycles. The new six-year terms will begin after the expiration of the current terms of office which had to be adjusted to match up to the November elections.

Contact our Board of Education members:

Wendy E. Stafford
Email:  wstafford@otsegops.org
Term Expires:  Dec. 31, 2018

Scot Reitenour
Email: scot.reitenour@yahoo.com
Term Expires:  Dec. 31, 2020

Jay Petty
Email: jay.petty@stryker.com
Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2016

Lisa Imus
Email: lisa.sutterfield@gmail.com
Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2020

Bryon L. Campbell
Email:  bryon.campbell@vai.org
Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2018

Jerry Robinson
Email:  jrobinson@otsegops.org
Term Expires:  Dec. 31, 2022

Stephen Podewell
Email: spodewell@otsegops.org
Term Expires: Dec. 31, 2022